Stevenage Stamp Fair

10.00am to 4.00pm Novotel Hotel, Knebworth Park SG1 2AX Stevenage Tel 01438 346100 (Hotel)

GPS. N 51° 53' 12.83" W 0° 12' 30.85" 4th Sunday in September, November 2017 January, March, May, July 2018

Cambridge Stamp Fair

10.00am to 3.00pm Arbury Community Centre Campkin Road, Arbury, Cambridge, CB4 2LD

www.arburycommunitycentre.org.uk/maps.html 2nd Saturday in September, November 2017 January, March, May, July 2018

ORGANISERS TEL. No : (01223) 355004 Get on to the B1049 from the A14. Then signposted

Please check details before travelling

OFFICERS

Acting Chairmen: Mr. R. HILL & Mr. P.E. WILDERSPIN Contact Details Below

General Secretary: Mr. D.J. BELTON 128 Chells Way, Stevenage, SG2 0LX

Telephone: 01438 315040

Treasurer: Mr. W.F. COOPER, 2 Sefton Road, Stevenage, SG1 5RU

Telephone 01438 359544

Packet Secretary: Mr. B.J. THURSTANCE 71 Arlesey Road, Ickleford, Hitchin, SG5 3TG

Telephone: 01462 625171

Sales Secretary: Please contact General Secretary

Librarian: Dr. P.M.G. BAVIN

2 Sollershott West, Letchworth, SG6 3PX Telephone: 01462 623275

SECTIONAL SECRETARIES

Hitchin: Mr. R. Hill, The Bungalow, 68G Regent Street, Stotfold, Hitchin, SG5 4DX. Telephone 0771 8689192

Letchworth: Mr. D. Northover, 66 Howard Drive, Letchworth, SG6 2DQ. Telephone 01462 635752

Royston: Mr. A.L. Kennedy, 48 Grange Bottom, Royston, SG8 9UQ. Telephone 01763 247641

Stevenage: Mr. P.E. Wilderspin, 36 Brickkiln Road, Stevenage, SG1 2NH Telephone: 01438 221073

North Herts Stamp Club

Patron Mr. R.J. Gray

Honorary Life Members

Mrs. E. Stephenson, Mr. J.V. Lord Mr J.M. Hawkes & Mr B.J. Thurstance



Programme 2017-2018

(H) = **Hitchin Meetings** – Christchurch (Classroom 3), Bedford Road, Hitchin at 7.45 for 8.00 pm

(L) = **Letchworth Meetings**Family Room, Howard Memorial Hall,
Norton Way South, Letchworth
at 7.00 for 7.15pm

(R) = **Royston Meetings**Room 11 The Community Centre,
Town Hall, Royston
at 2.00 for 2.15pm

(S) = **Stevenage Meetings**The Friends' Meeting House,
Cuttys Lane, Stevenage at 7.30 pm

2017 September					2018 January				Competition Winners President's Trophy Winners Shaw Cup Winners		
Tues	05	(S)	World War I at Sea – Mr A L Kennedy	Tues	02	(S)	Stevenage P.O. Cup / Exchange & Mart		. ,	Shaw Cup Winners	
Wed	13	(R)	Mr R Hill entertains	Wed	10	(R)	Isle of Man – Mr D Belton	2003 2004	Not awarded Mr. F.C. Haines	2003 Mr. B.J. Thurstance 2004 Mr. J. Hawkes	
Thurs	21	(H)	A visit from Bedford PS	Thurs	18	(H)	Europe – Members	2005	Mr. W. Cooper	2005 Mr. R. Gibbons	
Fri	29	(L)	Fiscal & Revenue Stamps of the	Fri	26	(L)	T is for? The Ron Sax Trophy	2006	Mr. T. Gentle	2006 Mr. M. Humphrey	
		` '	Commonwealth – Mr R Gibb			. ,	9 sheet local competition)	2007 2008	Mr. D. Alford Mr. M. Humphrey	2007 Mr. D. Alford 2008 Mr. B.J. Thurstance	
Octobe	er						+ Exchange and Mart	2009	Mr. W. Cooper	2009 Mr. J. Hawkes	
Tues 03 (S)		(S)	A visit from Rickmansworth PS	February				2010	Mr. W. Cooper	2010 Mr. B.J. Thurstance	
Wed	11	(R)	An afternoon with Mr D Northover	Tues	06	(S)	Devonport – Mr D Belton	2011 2012	Mr. W. Cooper Not awarded	2011 Mr. R Van Goethem 2012 Mr. R. Hill	
Thurs	19	(H)	Maritime Mail part 2 – Dr J Frank RDPSA	Wed	14	(R)	Stephenson Trophy + members 1 frame	2012	Mr. B.J. Thurstance	2013 Mr. B.J. Thurstance	
		` '	•	Thurs	15	(H)	Canada – Mr D Scoot	2014	Mr. D. Northover	2014 Mr. R. Hounsell	
Fri	27	(L)	Stamps and how to display them – 6 sheet Members workshop	Fri	23		Canadian Airmails – Mr D Scoot	2015	Mr. W. Cooper	2015 Mr. M. Humphrey 2016 Mr. D.J. Belton	
		(0)	•		23	(L)	Carladian Airmails – Wil D Scool	2016 2017	Mr. W. Cooper Mr. D.J. Belton	2016 Mr. D.J. Belton 2017 Dr. P.M.G. Bavin	
Sat	28	(S)	Seminar Tasmania and the Sydney Harbour Bridge	March Thurs	01	(B)	A visit from Enfield Philatelic Society	Postal	History Cup Winners	Novice Trophy	
			10.00 for 10.30 to 4.00pm Lunch £4			` '	leeting – Baldock Community Centre	2003	Mr. J. Hawkes	2003 Not awarded	
N			10.00 for 10.30 to 4.00pm Eurich £4	Alternoon			2.00pm — 4.00pm	2004	Mr. T. Lovelock	2004 Mr. M. Humphrey	
Novem		(D)	A visit from Laighton Duzzard	Tues	06	(S)	Annual Competitions / Exchange & Mart	2005 2006	Mr. R. Van Goethen Mr. J. Hawkes	2005 Mr. R. Van Goethen 2006 Not awarded	
Thurs	02	(B)	A visit from Leighton Buzzard Philatelic Society			` '	Members afternoon with Mr D Scoot	2007 Mr. D. Alford		2007 Mr. T. Lambe	
4	cı		,	Wed	14	(R)		2008	Mr. D.J. Belton	2008-09 Not awarded	
Allernoon		on ivi	Meeting – Baldock Community Centre 2.00pm – 4.00pm	Thurs	15	(H)	Cannon Trophy	2009 2010		2010 Mr. R. Hill 2011–12 Not awarded	
			, ,	Fri	30	(L)	Isle of Man – Mr D Belton	2010	Mr. D.J. Belton	2013 Mr. D. Northover	
Tues	07	(S)	Victoria Falls / Cecil Rhodes –	April				2012	Mr. D.J. Belton	2014 Not awarded	
			Mr R Barnett	Tues	03	(S)	Queen Victoria – Mr R Hill	2013 2014	Mr. R. Hill Mr. D. Scoot	2015 Mr C. Hearmon 2016 Mr. R. Parris	
Wed	80	(R)	Mr R Lester entertains	Wed	11	(R)	Members afternoon with guest speaker	2014	Mr. R. Hill	2016 Mr. R. Parris 2017 Not awarded	
Thurs	16	(H)	An evening with the Newspaper –	Thurs	19	(H)	Afghanistan – Mr I Shapiro	2016	Mr. R. Hill	Shaw Shield Winners	
			Mr S Kelly	Fri	27	(L)	Germany – Mr W Tierney	2017	Mr. R. Hill	1993–2017 Not awarded	
Fri	24	(L)	Pitcairn Islands – Mr J Hawkes	May		` ,	•		2017 - 2018 Season	commences in September	
Decem				Tues	01	(S)	N.H.S.C. Annual General Meeting			eetings are as follows:	
Tues	05	(S)	Ethopia – Mr S Kelly		s follov	ved by a	a members display (Nominations for Officers must be received			, i	
Wed	13	(R)	Anything				stary before the commencement of the meeting at 8.00pm)	Stev	enage	Tuesday 4 September	
			(not necessarily philatelic) - members	Wed		` '	Recent Acquisitions – members	Poveton		Wednesday 12 September	
Fri	15	(L)	Members recent acquisitions +	Thurs		(H)	Cancellations on Cape Classics	1 1		, ,	
			Cake & Mince Pies	Fri	25	(L)	Liechenstein – Mr F O'Donaghhe	Hitcl	nin	Thursday 20 September	
Thurs	21	(H)	Members Displays with Mince Pies and Stollen	June Tues	05	(S)	Ian Nutley Entertains	Leto	hworth	Friday 28 September	